Fairleigh Dickinson University IELTS requirements
Undergraduate
6.0Overall
Minimum per band not stated
Postgraduate
6.0Overall
Minimum per band not stated
Note: New Jersey campuses, direct admission; conditional/pathway below. Vancouver campus higher: IELTS 6.5 (6.0 bands), TOEFL 88, DET 120.
How far are you?
Pick your band to compare it with Fairleigh Dickinson University's requirement.
You need 6.0 for Fairleigh Dickinson University.
TOEFL, Duolingo and PTE minimums
| Undergraduate | Postgraduate | |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT | 70 | 70 |
| Duolingo English Test | 100 | 100 |
| PTE Academic | Not stated | Not stated |
Before you apply
Almost every university accepts an IELTS result for two years from the test date. If you're not sure about Fairleigh Dickinson University, check its admissions page before you book.
We found nothing from Fairleigh Dickinson University on IELTS Online, so ask before you book it.
If your score is a little below the requirement, many universities offer a pre-sessional English course. Ask the admissions office whether Fairleigh Dickinson University does.
Similar universities
In the US, with a similar IELTS requirement.
Appalachian State University
Boone, United StatesUG6.0PGNot listedArizona State University
Tempe, United StatesUG6.0min 5.5 eachPG6.5Boise State University
Boise, United StatesUG6.0PG6.5Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, United StatesUG6.0PG6.5CUNY Queens College
Queens, United StatesUG6.0PGNot listedCalifornia State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Pomona, United StatesUG6.0PG6.5
Where this figure comes from
We read this figure on Fairleigh Dickinson University's own admissions page. Last checked: October 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for a master's at Fairleigh Dickinson University?
Fairleigh Dickinson University asks for IELTS 6.0 overall for postgraduate study. Some programmes ask for more, so check the course page.
Does Fairleigh Dickinson University accept the Duolingo English Test?
Fairleigh Dickinson University lists a Duolingo English Test minimum: 100 for undergraduate and 100 for postgraduate. Check the page for your course, as some ask for more.
Does Fairleigh Dickinson University accept PTE Academic?
We found no PTE Academic minimum for Fairleigh Dickinson University. That does not always mean it is refused, so ask the admissions office.
Getting ready for IELTS?
More free IELTS tools
All free toolsIELTS band score calculator
Average your four skill bands, rounded the way IELTS rounds them.
Speaking topic generator
Answer random Part 1, 2 and 3 questions on an exam timer.
IELTS score converter
Compare an IELTS band with TOEFL, Duolingo and PTE scores and CEFR levels.
Listening score calculator
Get your Listening band from your correct answers out of 40.